still life… under a sky

SKY

I’ve traveled throughout this country and around the world while growing up. One constant besides my family was the sky, moon and stars. I simply knew it was the same sky no matter where I was on earth. The thought was comforting to a little girl.

Thirty years ago  I settled in Colorado my adopted home state and now I know not all skies are alike! Oh, there are absolutely gorgeous skies in fabulous places but I love my big Western sky!

Now when I travel, if I can’t see a huge sky all around I feel claustrophobic.

__________________________________________________________________________

Mt. Garfield shrouded in mystery

Arizona sky…  traveling with my daughter years back. It took us twice the time to get where we were going because I kept pulling over and taking photos. Then she took over the driving and I had to shoot with my head halfway out the window ! ( I asked her once if she “could turn around at the next exit and drive past a field of cows again… “the sun’s so perfect?”

“No mom, I couldn’t!”

Utah!

on the road again…                             © lMc

joy ~ caliroe

About caliroe

playing in the mediums of poetry, photography, art and life. practicing the discipline of zen.

Posted on September 12, 2012, in photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those are fantastic photos of the sky. 😉

    Like

  2. I love my big sky too.. it is surprising how little of the skies I noticed while growing up, especially during the day. I wonder if the clouds are indeed further up in India 🙂

    Like

Star In Her Eye

raising a rare girl

Shedding Light on Mental Illness

The triumphs and struggles of living with bipolar disorder

Crest, Cliff & Canyon

Landscape Photography by A. Jackson Frishman

A Hundred Falling Veils

there's a poem in every day

Ikea Decorating Ideas

Daily Decorating Ideas and Tips

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

Insight. . . !

A little writing space which means a lot for a young man to express his immature thoughts.

